Dollar Community Council, Clackmannanshire
Location Map

Your Community Council

Dollar Community Council has been around since 1891 and has always been run by members of the community. All elected members are volunteers and provide a link between the Community and the Members and Officers of Clackmannanshire Council.

As well as this we liaise with other Community Councils in Clackmannanshire and are the first point of contact for statutory bodies such as Police Scotland and Forth Valley Health Board. Formally we are one of a number of statutory consultees on planning matters pertinent to the boundaries of the Community Council.

In reality the role of the Community Council is far wider reaching within the town. It funds and facilitates a number of community activities, including:

  • Dollar News
  • Dollar Events
  • Burnside Maintaintence

Dollar Community Council meets at 7pm on the following dates in 2024: 15th January, 18th March, 20th May, 15th July, 16th September(AGM) and 18th November.

These meeting are open to all members of the Dollar community and are held in The Captain's Room at Dollar Academy..

Your input is very welcome and really appreciated.

Your Council

Derek McDonald


Calum Jackson

Vice Chair

Francis Allan


Norman Ross


Paul Dearden

Planning and Roads, Dollar Academy Governor

Alison Marshall

EDF, Joint Community Council Forum

Anne Sutherland

Dollar News Editor

Sarah Gwyne

Entertainment and Volunteers

Stephen MacMillan


Melanie Welton









Council Elections

Community Council elections are held every 4 years, with the next election due in 2025.

Dollar Community Council has 14 elected Community Councillors and all positions are up for election. Office Bearers are be elected annually at the AGM.

Election Process

Once an election is called nomination forms will be available via Clackmannanshire Council’s website ( In addition, the Community Council will make nomination forms available here and, if possible, circulate paper versions in Dollar.

Each nominee needs two exclusive subscribers who must both be on the Dollar electoral register.

Facebook Page